ayoungfoodie

a teenager's take on food, photography and everything in between

Spiced Peaches

9 Comments

I couldn’t help but write one more Christmas post…

Close-up

With my Aunts stealing the job of the Christmas ham from my clutches, I had to suffice making the pudding. After flopping down onto the sofa, tired after my labours, I flicked over to the Food Network to be greeted by Nigella and her peaches(!).

Spiced peaches is a condiment best served cold as a side dish with roast ham, hot or cold. While boiling, the kitchen becomes a Christmas wonderland of aromas, from cinnamon to nutmeg. I gave these as presents, stored in old-fashioned kilner jars, with ribbon for a finishing touch. I’ve even seen someone (my cousin) eat them for pudding, they’re that good! I really recommend this recipe, as it only take 5 minutes to make, but can be stored for weeks to come.

Makes: 2 jars/Serves 8 people

Ingredients:

  • 2 x 400g cans peach halves in syrup
  • 1 x 15ml tablespoon of rice vinegar or white wine vinegar
  • 2 short sticks cinnamon
  • 1 x 4cm piece of ginger, peeled and sliced thinly into rounds
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried chilli flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon Maldon salt or 1/4 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon whole black peppercorns
  • 3 cloves

Method:

  1. Empty the cans of peaches with their syrup into a saucepan.
  2. Add the vinegar, cinnamon, sliced ginger, chilli flakes, salt, peppercorns and cloves.
  3. Bring the pan to the boil, and let the contents bubble for a minute or so, then turn off the heat and leave in the pan to keep warm.
  4. Serve the peaches with a hot ham, letting people take a peach half each and some of the spiced juice. (Any leftover spiced peaches can, and should, be stored in a jar and then eaten cold with cold ham.)
Author: ayoungfoodie

Lover of lomography and typical food-crazed teen. In the process of rekindling her passion for blogging.

9 thoughts on “Spiced Peaches

  1. These peaches look incredible! I’m gonna have to give them a try. What a great looking blog you have here. Nice!!!

  2. hahahahahaha
    hahahahahaha
    You actually did the nigella thing!!
    LOL
    Good recipe 🙂 I mean, I didnt read it, but it looked all official and stuff. So I assumed that it was a good recipe.
    😀 x

    • @Sonya. Thanks hun just for going back on here, if you feel like commenting on anything else… x
      Note to everyone else: Comment if you got the sexual innuendo on Nigella that my friend made me write

    • Lawl. Nigella. Would have been better with lemons though.
      Laaawl.
      *disappointed*
      You do realise the point of the blog is to actually read it, not just look at the pictures?
      OK, OK, I’m being a hypocrite.

  3. Fantastic blog! Love the photography. Cant wait for the next post.

Wanna make my day? Leave a reply below!

