ayoungfoodie

a teenager's take on food, photography and everything in between

Apple lattice

3 Comments

OK, some of you are going to notice a theme here: Apple and blackberry crumble, Apple lattice and tomorrow’s post, Mini Apple pies. You get the picture. I love apples.

Fresh from the oven

I came victim to these while wandering down the fruit isle to spot a colony of gorgeous bramleys. I couldn’t resist. Allow knowing I was already loaded with homework, I bought the temptresses of the supermarket and with them, some ready-to-roll puff pastry (yes, I cheated).

Ingredients:

For the filling:

  • 2kg bramley apples, peeled, cored and sliced

    A little pastry art

  • 125g caster sugar

For the topping:

  • Thawed sheet of puff pastry
  • 1 tbsp demerara sugar
  • 1 egg or milk, to glaze

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C/400°F/Gas 6.
  2. Place the apples and sugar into a pan, filled with four or so table spoons of water; cover with a lid and simmer for 10 minutes. Take off the heat and cool when the apples are beginning to soften, you don’t want them too mushy yet!
  3. Roll out most of the pastry and line a dish or tray with it, spooning on top, the apple mixture.
  4. With the rest of the pastry, cut it into strips, long enough to reach across the dish. Arrange them horizontally, 1cm apart and repeat the other way to create a lattice. Glaze the rim and the strips with beaten egg or milk and a pastry brush, ensuring not to get much on the apple. Finally, sprinkle the sugar on top.
  5. Bake until golden – usually 35 – 40 minutes and serve.

    Yummeh!

Author: ayoungfoodie

Lover of lomography and typical food-crazed teen. In the process of rekindling her passion for blogging.

3 thoughts on “Apple lattice

  1. Caster sugar isn’t something I’ve seen here 😦 I’ve never heard of it. Can I make this with regular sugar?

    Love the pastry art! LOL!

    And your pictures are so good that I can almost smell this here in my house. This looks like a recipe I would love!

    • @Sarah – Thanks so much! I think these ARE my best pics so far. (Some of the others aren’t so good)
      If you’re American you probably haven’t heard of caster sugar. It’s sort of softer sugar we Brits use for baking. But this recipe can be made with most types of sugar, so try yours.
      Pastry art was all designed by a knife and one extremely bored teenager, while it was cooking.

Wanna make my day? Leave a reply below!

