ayoungfoodie

a teenager's take on food, photography and everything in between

Mini Apple Pies

15 Comments

The new year brought me many things. A new year, a new Lumix G3, a new Hummingbird bakery cook book and some new sweet baking apples. These apples, and the terrible misreading of this recipe, brought me a new mistake. Which actually turned out just fine.

Straight from the oven

There’s actually a funny story behind this one. If you closely inspect the photo, you can test your food knowledge by recognising the pastry I used as puff. And with the amount of filling I used, you are NOT supposed to use puff pastry, as in fact, it puffs up COMPLETELY. Now it’s fine to use puff pastry with this recipe, but just make sure you don’t pile on the filling crazily, like I did. I’m still cleaning the oven out from this recipe.Β  However, according to my tasters, this made the product more appealing and tastier. (I have no idea how)

Makes: 12

A little too much?

Ingredients:

  • Thawed sheet of puff pastry
  • 4 extra-sweet cooking apples, peeled, cored and sliced
  • 10g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Place apples and sugar in a pan, filled with a couple of table spoons of water. Simmer for 10 mins, then cool.
  2. Line a cupcake tray with pastry and put a dollop of filling in each pie, being careful not to put in too much.
  3. Cook according to instructions on pastry packet.
  4. Sprinkle with demerara sugar as soon as they come out of the oven.

    Fini!

    .

Author: ayoungfoodie

Lover of lomography and typical food-crazed teen. In the process of rekindling her passion for blogging.

15 thoughts on “Mini Apple Pies

  1. ummmm……delicious!!!

  2. I love apple anythings! So all these apple recipes are making me overwhelmed!! Ahaha πŸ™‚

  3. This is a wonderful idea πŸ™‚ I love mini’s!!!!

  4. You are lucky to have discovered your passion for the culinary arts at so young an age. Your blog rocks, keep it up πŸ™‚

    • @Marissa Huber – Thanks so much! I love cooking and photography sooo much! If I’m good enough, I plan to have a career tying it with it (but it probably won’t happen) – It really is a joy to read such lovely comments!

  5. They look delicious. I foraged a HUGE basket of apples from the side of the road on the weekend and am making a hig batch of stweed apple. I’ll definately give these a go. Thank you.

  6. They look delicious! πŸ™‚

  7. Definitely going to try this recipe. Simple but great!

  8. i usually don’t like apple pies, but this is amazinggg πŸ˜€

Wanna make my day? Leave a reply below!

