ayoungfoodie

a teenager's take on food, photography and everything in between

Watercress soup

12 Comments

Sorry, I’ve been ‘dead to the world’ for a while. But now I’ve received Bi*Rite Market’s Eat Good Food from my very generous friend Sarah – sarahowens.wordpress.com , I have so many more recipes to share with you! But let’s go back to basics with ‘The Aga Book’ by Mary Berry.

All chopped

Watercress, known among other leaf vegetables for its tangy and peppery taste is delicious in soup. Generally, these are based on potatoes; but this one is mainly on onion, so much lighter. Remember, with all vegetables it is best to get them fresh and organic from a farmers’ market, but until I next get access to one, it’s the supermarket for now. It is one of the healthiest things I have cooked since starting this website and is the sort of thing you’ll see on the Weight Watchers site. However, I think it would be nicer with a little meat in, and next time I make this, I’ll go all Chinese on you, and use a recipe involving pork. 

It's...ready!

Serves: 6

Ingredients:

Bubbling, boiling

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 1 pint (600ml) water
  • 2 stock cubes
  • 2 bunches watercress
  • 1 pint (600ml) milk
  • Seasonings

Method:

Frying

  1.  Fill a jug with 1 pint of boiling water and crush the cubes into it. Heat some butter and oil in a large pan and gently fry the onion for about 10 minutes until soft and transparent. Sprinkle in flour and cook for another minute, then add in the stock a little at a time and bring to the boil, stirring until thickened.
  2. Wash the watercress, removing any limp pieces, and reserve a few of the brightest leaves to chop as garnish just before serving. Add the watercress to the pan with the seasoning.
  3. Bring back to the boil, cover and simmer gently for about 5 minutes. Reduce the soup to a puree in a processor or blender and add milk. Return to pan and bring back to boil once more, before serving and garnishing.

    Croutons!

    .

Author: ayoungfoodie

Lover of lomography and typical food-crazed teen. In the process of rekindling her passion for blogging.

12 thoughts on “Watercress soup

  1. Yay you’re back! For a second there I was convinced you were going to stop blogging! :O

    I’ve only had watercress once. Back at school when I was littler. My friend brought some in and all of my friends an I tried it. It was… interesting.
    Lol 🙂

  2. I like how you made this soup lighter by skipping the potatoes. And yes, I’m a fan of watercress, I love it in salads, but soup is great too 🙂

  3. Whew! Relieved your back!

    I’m ashamed to admit I have never tried water cress. Ever. It looks sooooooo good in your pictures, and I love the recipe. So glad you shared this, it gives me the chance to try something new! Thank you for posting my dear….and thanks for the shout out! I hope your week is perfect in every way!

  4. I love watercress as well! Thanks for sharing!

  5. this looks great! watercress is sadly very underused here in the States…always glad to see a recipe that uses it!

Wanna make my day? Leave a reply below!

